Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

As a focal point in the movement for women’s rights, the International Women’s Day has been celebrated since 1911 on 8 March. On the occasion of that special day, the “European International Women’s Leadership Award” ( is awarded to women, who at a certain moment of their live, have decided to follow their dream, to break with traditional obligations around them, to challenge male-dominated areas, to act in a respectful way in order to give an example to all those women, who do not (yet) dare to raise their voice and to develop their potential.

Two years ago, that award was handed over in March in the European Parliament to female leaders and activists from China, Djibouti, France, Morocco, Nigeria, Turkey, the UK and the US.

Last year, this award had been handed over in March (impossible, due to COVID-19 restrictions, to do it again in the European Parliament) in the Representation of the State of Hesse to the EU to female leaders and activists from Afghanistan, Cambodia, Belgium, Italy, Morocco and Taiwan.

As the COVID-19 restrictions make a public event still impossible in the European Parliament, we are grateful to the Representation of the State of Hessen to the EU for hosting this year’s event another time in their premises – because of the pandemic not in March, but in September.

You are therefore cordially invited to this year’s ceremony, where MEP Corina Cretu (the former EU Regional Policy Commissioner) will hand over the awards to Oyunna Bold (Mongolia, Belgium), Monika Griefahn (Germany), Yasmine Hasnaoui (Morocco, United States), Gulnoza Ismailova (Uzbekistan), Irene Kamanzi (RdC, Belgium), Bissan Salman (Palestine, Israel), Shamim Shawl (Kashmir, UK) and Yangdutso Yangkartsang (Tibet, Belgium):


Wednesday, 01 September 2021


European International Women’s Leadership Award 2021


 Please understand that – because of the COVID-19 restrictions – only the laureates and their personal guests will be able to participate physically (Representation of the State of Hessen to the EU, Rue Montoyer 21, 1000 Brussels).

In case you want to follow the ceremony virtually, please register via The link for a virtual participation is the YouTube channel Hessen in Berlin und Europa.

With the friendly support of the Representation of the State of Hessen to the EU